Print this page

Awards 2015

Wiltshire Athletic Association hosted a presentation awards evening at the Devizes Sports & Social Club on Friday 12th June 2015 to recognise those who make the county an outstanding place to run. There are awards for athletes, coaches, officials and others who give their time to make it possible for us to run and participate in events.  

After deliberation the Awards Judging Panel made the following presentations from the 111 nominations received:

Male Athlete of the year

  • Jake Ness (City of Salisbury A&RC) - WINNER
  • Simon Nott (Calne Running Club) - RUNNER UP
  • William Kennedy (Team Bath AC) - RUNNER UP


Female Athlete of the year

  • Polly Maton (Moonrakers AC) - WINNER
  • Denise Grech (Calne Running Club) - RUNNER UP
  • Alex Mundell (City of Salisbury A&RC) - RUNNER UP


Young Male athlete of the year

  • Rory Howorth (Team Bath AC) - WINNER
  • Kieran Short (Marlborough & District Junior AC) - RUNNER UP
  • Tom Gale (Team Bath AC) - RUNNER UP

Young Female athlete of the year

  • Lucy Jane-Matthews (Southampton AC) - WINNER
  • Chloe Crippen (Highworth Running Club) - RUNNER UP
  • Zoe Mattacks (Team Bath AC) - RUNNER UP


Male Veteran athlete of the year

  • Gary Dunstone (Chippenham Harriers) - WINNER
  • Anthony Hickson (Avon Valley Runners) - RUNNER UP
  • Darren Clissold (City of Salisbury A&RC) - RUNNER UP


Female Veteran athlete of the year

  • Fiona Price (Avon Valley Runners) - WINNER
  • Linda New (City of Salisbury A&RC) - RUNNER UP
  • Jo Thompson (Team Bath AC) - RUNNER UP

Coach of the year 

  • Lee Ness (City of Salisbury A&RC) - WINNER
  • Damion Godwin (Devizes Running Club) - RUNNER UP
  • Adrian Clover (Team Bath AC) - RUNNER UP


Unsung Hero of the year

  • John Matthews (Royal Wootton Basset Hounds) - WINNER
  • Karen Mundell (City of Salisbury A&RC) - RUNNER UP
  • Sue Hazzard (City of Salisbury A&RC) - RUNNER UP


Official of the year

  • Alan Brown (Swindon Harriers) - WINNER
  • Jacqui Sykes (Marlborough & District Junior AC) - RUNNER UP
  • Di Viles (Team Bath AC) - RUNNER UP


Initiative of the year

  • Athlefit (Lavington Trust) - WINNER
  • AVR Beginners (Avon Valley Runners) - RUNNER UP
  • Young Athlete Initiative (City of Salisbury A&RC) - RUNNER UP

Race of the year

  • Wickstead Wander (Highworth Running Club) - WINNER
  • Over the Hills (Avon Valley Runners) - RUNNER UP
  • Devizes Half Marathon (Event Logic) - RUNNER UP


Athletics Brain of Wiltshire

  • Cal Maw (Devizes Running Club) - WINNER